Victorian State Election 2010: Footscray

Victorian election guide

Electorate: Footscray

Margin: Labor 24.7%
Upper house region: Western Metropolitan
Federal: Gellibrand/Maribyrnong
Click here for Victorian Electoral Commission map

The candidates

footscray - alp

Liberal (bottom)

Labor (top)

RICE, Janet

CUMMING, Catherine

WINDISCH, Margarita
Socialist Alliance


Electorate analysis: Bounded to the east by the Maribyrnong River, the electorate of Footscray extends west through Maribyrnong and Footscray to Sunshine. Barring a period between 1904 and 1927, it has existed continuously since 1877 and has been in Labor hands since its re-creation. Marsha Thomson came to the seat upon the retirement of Bruce Mildenhall at the 2006 election, having previously served for two terms as member for the upper house province of Melbourne North. A member of the Labor Unity (Right) faction, Marsha Thomson worked in various government and electorate office jobs before entering politics, spending the 1990s in the employment of factional chieftains Robert Ray and Stephen Conroy. On entering parliament she went straight into the Bracks ministry in the consumer affairs and small business portfolios, but she was demoted to parliamentary secretary after the 2006 election due to her faction’s desire to accommodate up-and-comers Lisa Neville, James Merlino and Joe Helper.

Analysis written by William Bowe. Read William’s blog, The Poll Bludger.

Back to Crikey’s Victorian election guide