Victorian State Election 2010: Bendigo West

Victorian election guide

Electorate: Bendigo West

Margin: Labor 10.6%
Upper house region: Northern Victoria
Federal: Bendigo/Murray
Outgoing member: Bob Cameron (Labor)
Click here for Victorian Electoral Commission map

The candidates

bendigowest - alp

Country Alliance

WINTLE, Frances
Family First

OLIVER, Steven

FOSTER, Anne Lorraine
Christian Party

RADFORD, Sue-Ellen

Labor (top)

Liberal (bottom)

CADDY, Sandra
Democratic Labor Party


Electorate analysis: Bendigo was divided into the two electorates of Bendigo East and Bendigo West at the 1985 election, the latter extending beyond the city limits to take in the towns of Tarnagulla, Maldon and Castlemaine. Bendigo West has been won by Labor at each election since except 1992, when Liberal candidate Max Turner defeated Labor incumbent David Kennedy by 1.1 per cent. Former lawyer and Socialist Left stalwart Bob Cameron recovered it for Labor at the 1996 election with a 3.3 per cent swing and strongly consolidated his position with 1999 and 2002, emerging on the latter occasion with a margin of 15.9 per cent. Cameron served as a minister throughout the years of the Bracks-Brumby government, serving in the difficult police and emergency services portfolio from August 2007.

Two months out from the coming election Cameron unexpectedly announced his retirement, citing family reasons. The Labor Party subsequently endorsed Cameron’s electorate officer, Maree Edwards, who according to VexNews benefit from the support of Bendigo East MP Jacinta Allan and a peace deal between Labor Unity and the Socialist Left which ensured Cameron would be replaced by a factional colleague. The Liberal candidate is Anita Donlon, a “self-employed business developer and business mentor”.

Analysis written by William Bowe. Read William’s blog, The Poll Bludger.

Back to Crikey’s Victorian election guide