Queensland State Election 2012: Yeerongpilly

Electorate: Yeerongpilly

Margin: Labor 8.7%
Region: Southern Brisbane
Federal: Moreton/Griffith
Click here for Electoral Commission of Queensland map

The candidates

yeerongpilly - alp


Liberal National (bottom)

Katter’s Australian Party

Labor (top)

Family First


Electorate analysis: The electorate of Yeerongpilly covers inner suburbs about six kilometres south of central Brisbane, from Fairfield and Annerley south to Salisbury. It was created in 2001 in place of abolished Yeronga, which was held by the Liberals from its creation in 1950 until Matt Foley won it for Labor in 1989. Foley secured Labor’s hold on Yeronga with a swing of 7.9 per cent in 1998, and picked up a 8.7 per cent in Yeerongpilly in 2001. He retired at the 2004 election and was succeeded by Simon Finn, a party organiser associated with the Left faction, who did well to win preselection on the strength of branch support ahead of factional colleague Dave Harrison, the Peter Beattie-backed state secretary of the Australian Manufacturing Workers Union. Finn was promoted to parliamentary secretary in the industrial relations portfolio after the 2009 election, and thence to cabinet as Government Services, Building Industry and Information and Communication Technology Minister in the February 2011 reshuffle. His LNP opponent is Carl Judge, a police officer currently working in “legislation and policy development roles”, according to the party website.

Analysis written by William Bowe. Please direct corrections or comments to pollbludger-AT-crikey.com.au. Read William’s blog, The Poll Bludger.

Back to Crikey’s Queensland election guide