Queensland State Election 2012: Buderim

Electorate: Buderim

Margin: Liberal National 14.3%
Region: Sunshine Coast Hinterland
Federal: Fairfax
Click here for Electoral Commission of Queensland map

The candidates

buderim - lnp

Labor (bottom)

Family First

Katter’s Australian Party


Liberal National (top)

buderim - alp

Electorate analysis: The boundaries this Sunshine Coast electorate are neatly defined by the Bruce Highway in the west, the Sunshine Motorway in the east and south and Petrie Creek in the north. It was created at the 2009 election, taking three-quarters of its voters (around Buderim and Mountain Creek) from Kawana, which as redrawn contained fewer voters from the old Kawana than the new electorate. It was accordingly contested for the LNP by the erstwhile member for Kawana, Steve Dickson, who added 5.0 per cent to the LNP’s notional 9.3 per cent margin in Buderim. A former Maroochy Shire councillor who won Kawana from Labor’s two-term member Chris Cummins amid the Sunshine Coast anti-Labor swing of 2006, Dickson was promoted to the front bench as Shadow Workplace and Job Security Minister when the LNP merger took effect in August 2008. John-Paul Langbroek dumped him from the front bench after the 2009 election, but he was brought back as Shadow Energy and Water Utilities Minister when Campbell Newman became leader in April 2011.

Analysis written by William Bowe. Please direct corrections or comments to pollbludger-AT-crikey.com.au. Read William’s blog, The Poll Bludger.

Back to Crikey’s Queensland election guide