NSW State Election 2011: Kogarah

Electorate: Kogarah

Margin: Labor 17.7%
Region: Sydney St George District
Federal: Barton/Banks
Click here for NSW Electoral Commission map

The candidates

kogarah - alp

Christian Democratic Party

Liberal (bottom)

Labor (top)


kogarah - lib

Electorate analysis: The electorate of Kogarah is on the northern bank of the Georges River about 10 kilometres south of the city centre, extending from Connells Point and Blakehurst north to Bexley. The seat was created in 1930 and has been in Labor hands since 1953, although the margin was well below 5 per cent between 1988 and 1995. The previous member, Brian Langton, retired in 1999 after resigning as Transport Minister when it was found he had lied to the Parliamentary Accounts Department over travel payments. Cherie Burton, a former Premier’s office staffer and official with the Right faction National Union of Workers, won the ensuing preselection unopposed. Burton has since become associated with the Right sub-faction known as the “Terrigals”, the power base of Joe Tripodi. She was promoted to Housing Minister when Morris Iemma became Premier in August 2005, but quit the ministry after the 2007 election citing family reasons. Reports at the time implied the real reason for her departure was a police complaint over an incident in which she allegedly pushed a Liberal campaign worker on polling day. In late 2010 her licence was suspended for refusing to cooperate with police demands for a blood test.
She is to be opposed at the election by Liberal candidate Mireille Hindi, a local councillor. An early Liberal preselection nominee was Ron Delezio, whose daughter Sophie suffered horrific injuries in two separate car accidents, but he later withdrew.

Analysis written by William Bowe. Please direct corrections or comments to pollbludger-AT-crikey.com.au. Read William’s blog, The Poll Bludger.

Back to Crikey’s NSW election guide