NSW State Election 2011: Canterbury

Electorate: Canterbury

Margin: Labor 27.1%
Region: Inner Southern Sydney
Federal: Grayndler/Barton/Watson
Click here for NSW Electoral Commission map

The candidates

canterbury - alp

Labor (top)


Liberal (bottom)

Christian Democratic Party

canterbury - lib

Electorate analysis: Canterbury is located about 10 kilometres south-west of the city centre, from Summer Hill and Croydon Park south through Canterbury to Earlwood. The seat has been in Labor hands since 1913, barring one term from 1932 when it fell to an independent. Former NSW Department of Aboriginal Affairs director-general Linda Burney became member in 2003 as New South Wales’ first indigenous MP. She had won preselection with the backing of Left faction heavyweight Anthony Albanese after the previous member, Kevin Moss of the Right, reluctantly agreed to step aside. Burney was promoted to parliamentary secretary to the Education Minister in August 2005, and filled one of the ALP’s three national president positions in August 2006. After the 2007 election she was further promoted to Fair Trading Minister, and again to Community Services Minister when Nathan Rees assumed the leadership in September 2008. Her Liberal opponent is Canterbury councillor Ken Nam.

Analysis written by William Bowe. Please direct corrections or comments to pollbludger-AT-crikey.com.au. Read William’s blog, The Poll Bludger.

Back to Crikey’s NSW election guide