Scroll to top

Crikey Awards

(Image: AAP/Mick Tsikas)

The Crikey Awards: The Best of the Decade

It's been a big decade of Arsehats and heroes. So, who is the best of the best — and who is the worst of the worst?

Australian Energy Minister Angus Taylor. (Image: AAP/Lukas Coch)

And the 2019 Arsehat of the Year is...

In one of the most decisive wins in the award's history, 2019's Arsehat of the Year embodies all of the worst traits of the political class.

New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern (Image: AAP/Boris Jancic)

And the 2019 Person of the Year is...

2019's Person of the Year consistently demonstrated the kind of qualities all leaders should aspire to.

(Image: AAP/Mick Tsikas)

The 2019 politician of the year fought hard for free speech and a free press

Crikey's politician of the year is an MP who has combined remarkable electoral success with a willingness to speak against Australia's descent into a police state.

Boral CEO Mike Kane in 2014. (Image: APP/Dan Himbrechts)

The 2019 Crikey Business Awards

Who is on Crikey's Business Awards list this year — and more importantly, have they been naughty or nice?

(Image: Getty)

Two days left to vote in the 2019 Crikey Awards!

Time is running out to have your say on who will be crowned Arsehat of the Year.

(Image: Getty)

Vote now in the 2019 Crikey Awards!

As always, the nominees for our prestigious end-of-year awards are an exquisite mix of arsehats and heroes.

Risky business: the 2018 Crikey business awards

From Theranos to Snapchat, 2018 was a stand-out year for bad business, but there were some winners.

The 2018 Pollie of the Year is...

In a year in which the political class has failed to address the disaffection and contempt so many voters have for our political system, Bill Shorten has been far and away the most effective politician.

Bernard Collaery. (Image: AAP/Rod Mcguirk)

And the 2018 Person of the Year is...

Australia owes a great deal to the winners of the 2018 Person of the Year.