Yesterday we kicked off our annual Crikey Awards, asking you to crown Crikey’s Arsehat of the Year, Person of the Year and Sexiest Male and Female Politician. We included a blank space where you can write your name — or the name of the person you think should win the award — in case we forgot anyone. And boy howdy, did we ever. Human Rights Commission president Gillian Triggs, who won the Person of the Year award last year, was a popular write-in for Person of the Year, and Crikey readers could not believe we had left Cory “Make Australia Great Again” Bernardi off the list of arsehats. Peter Whish-Wilson and Chris Crewther are ideological opposites but share a place in your hearts (and/or loins), as they kept showing up as write-in candidates for Sexiest Male Pollie. We have updated the list with these additions, and that will be the end of it. Triggs, despite having a multi-hour handicap, is gaining ground steadily and could yet pip the current frontrunner. The Arsehat category is a dead heat, with just two votes separating the two leaders as of time of writing, and a scant 60 between them and the next most arsehatty. The Sexiest Male and Sexiest Female categories are anyone’s game. Vote for your favourites here.

Expect more from your journalism.

Crikey is an independent Australian-owned and run outfit. It doesn’t enjoy the vast resources of the country’s main media organisations. We take seriously our responsibility to bear witness.

I hope you appreciate our reporting and consider supporting Crikey’s work. Join now for your chance at election themed merch.

Peter Fray
Peter Fray
Join now