This has not been a good year. Donald Trump and Pauline Hanson were elected, Britain Brexited, David Bowie died, and Peter Dutton shot off his mouth (again). But there were some lights among the darkness (and at the very least, we have lots of arsehats to choose from).

It's time to vote for the 2016 Crikey Arsehat of the Year, Person of the Year and Sexiest Male and Female Politician. Remember: last year we gave Tony Abbott the coveted Golden Arsehat Lifetime Achievement Award, so he is ineligible to win the Arsehat trophy this year.