Call it a guilty pleasure, but there’s almost nothing Crikey does that gets as much recurring interest as our media couples list. But we haven’t updated our list of media power couples since 2010, so we thought we’d use the January lull to see about that.

The last time we did this, the list had more than 250 couples. This one is considerably shorter. We had to start from scratch. Many of the names on our old lists are no longer working in media or are no longer together. For this list, we’ve included high-profile couples working at national news organisations who have been together for a significant amount of time. If you can think of anyone we’ve missed, get in touch. As always, this is a work in progress.

  • Jessica Halloran (Sunday Telegraph) and James Hooper (Sunday Telegraph)
  • Michael Felgate (Seven News) and Jacqui Felgate (Seven News)
  • Jacqueline Maley (SMH Canberra sketch writer) and James Robertson (SMH state politics reporter)
  • Karl Hoerr (ABC TV news) and Marion Ives (SBS TV news)
  • Heather Ewart (ABC Backroads) and Barrie Cassidy (ABC Insiders)
  • Kathryn Robinson (Channel Ten) and Chris Reason (Channel Seven)
  • Sarah Ferguson (ABC) and Tony Jones (ABC)
  • Ross Solly (ABC) and Samantha Hawley (ABC)
  • Alan Ramsey (Fairfax columnist) and Laura Tingle (Australian Financial Review)
  • Julia Medew (The Age) and Peter Ker (The Australian Financial Review)
  • Clive Mathieson (editor, The Australian) and Miranda Murphy (The Australian)
  • Michaela Boland (The Australian) and Michael Bodey (The Australian)
  • Madeleine Coorey (Agence France-Presse) and Alister McMillan (The Australian)
  • Evie White (The Daily Telegraph) and Andrew White (The Australian
  • Chris Stedman (The Australian) and Cecily Ryan (The Daily Telegraph)
  • Penny Durham (The Australian) and Chris Hook (The Daily Telegraph)
  • Fiona Gillies (The Daily Telegraph) and Stuart Parker (The Australian)
  • Chris Bath (Channel Ten) and Jim Wilson (Seven sports reporter)
  • Tracey Holmes (ABC sports journalist) and Stan Grant (Sky News/The Guardian)
  • Jennifer Byrne (ABC presenter) and Andrew Denton (TV producer)
  • Louise Hall (SMH court reporter) and Christopher Hopper (Sunday Telegraph sports editor)
  • Sophie Morris (formerly The Saturday Paper, Fairfax) and Nick Butterly (The West Australian)
  • Jo Puccini (executive producer, 7.30) and Bruce Belsham (head of current affairs, ABC)
  • Clare Masters (formerly Daily Telegraph, now advising Mike Baird) and Alistair Adams-Smith (Daily Telegraph)
  • Nick Leys (former Australian media editor, now doing corporate comms at the ABC) and Louise Milligan (ABC 7.30 investigative reporter)
  • Louise Rugendyke (Sydney Morning Herald) and Matt Collins (Daily Telegraph)
  • Phil Coorey (Australian Financial Review) and Fleur Anderson (Australian Financial Review)
  • Miranda Wood (Sunday Telegraph) and Sean Berry (Seven News)
  • Brigid Glanville (ABC News) and Tim Palmer (ABC News)
  • Kim Wilson (editor Australian Women’s Weekly) and Ben Doherty (Guardian Australia)
  • Mike Bowers (The Guardian/ABC) and Paula Kruger (ABC training manager)
  • Jodie Speers (Seven News) and Ben Fordham (2GB/Channel Nine)
  • Anna Patty (Sydney Morning Herald) and Andrew West (Radio National)
  • Fran Kelly (ABC Radio National) and Marion Frith (Radio National)
  • Virginia Trioli (ABC News Breakfast) and Russell Skelton (ABC Fact Check)
  • Angela Shanahan (Australian columnist) and Dennis Shanahan (Australian political editor and Canberra bureau chief)
  • Susan Wyndham (literary editor SMH) and Paul Sheehan (Fairfax columnist)
  • Peter FitzSimons (Fairfax) and Lisa Wilkinson (Channel Nine/Huffington Post)
  • Marni Cordell (Head of News at Buzzfeed Australia) and Mark Davis (formerly SBS)
  • Bhakthi Puvanenthiran (entertainment editor, The Age) and Tom Cowie (The Age, formerly of Crikey)
  • Joe Hildebrand (Daily Telegraph) and Tara Ravens (AAP)
  • Phil Hudson (The Australian Canberra bureau chief) and Lyndal Curtis (Sky News
    Canberra bureau chief, ex-ABC)
  • Jessica Harmsen (ABC News) and Nick Harmsen (ABC News)
  • Bridie Jabour (The Guardian) and Matt Quagliotto (The Daily Telegraph)
  • Leesha McKenny (Sydney Morning Herald) and Dave Braithwaite (Fairfax Media)
  • Tahmina Ansari (ABC) and Mohamed Taha (ABC)
  • Mathew Dunckley (Fairfax’s Business Day) and Siobhan Duck (Herald Sun)
  • Rebecca Sullivan ( and Toby Johnstone (Domain Editorial Director)
  • Sylvia Jeffreys (Nine News) and Peter Stefanovic (Nine News)
  • Vanessa Grimm (Sky News) and Nick Grimm (ABC News 24)
  • Louise Momber (Channel Nine) and Rob Scott (Channel Seven)
  • Anne Henderson (occasional columnist) and Gerard Henderson (columnist, The Australian)
  • Caroline Wilson (The Age) and Brendan Donohoe (Seven News)
  • Mark Kenny (Fairfax Canberra bureau chief) and Virginia Haussegger (ABC)
  • Monique Schafter (ABC 7.30) and Dan Buhagiar (ABC Triple/Double J)
  • Tom Elliott (3AW Drive presenter) and Elise Elliott (A Current Affair/Herald Sun)
  • Lenore Taylor (The Guardian) and Paul Daley (The Guardian)
  • Marc Fennell (SBS) and Madeleine Genner (ABC Radio National)
  • Ben Law (Fairfax and others) and Scott Spark (ABC)
  • Marina Go (Bauer Media/Hearst) and Graeme Pringle (The Australian)
  • Peta-Jane Madam (Seven’s Sunday Night) and Tim Noonan (Seven)
  • Michael Stutchbury (editor-in-chief Australian Financial Review) and Ticky Fullerton (ABC’s The Business)
  • Paul Barry (ABC’s Media Watch host) and Lisa McGregor (ABC’s Australian Story)
  • Jessica Rowe (Channel Ten) and Peter Overton (Channel Nine)
  • Adam Harvey (ABC News) and Eliza Harvey (ABC News)
  • Tony Gillies (AAP editor in chief) and and Kylie Gillies (Channel 7)
  • Chris Johnston (Age journalist) and Penny Stephens (Age photographer)
  • Gillian Bowen (Channel Ten) and Chris Bowen (2GB)
  • Chris Mitchell (former Australian editor-in-chief, now columnist) and Cathy Rushton (columnist, Weekend Australian)
  • John Lehmann (The Australian deputy editor) and Megan Lehmann (Weekend Australian magazine)
  • Sonia Kruger (Mornings host) and Craig McPherson (Seven director of news and current affairs)
  • Laura Jayes (Sky News journalist) and Alex Hart (of Seven News)
  • Karen Barlow (Huffington Post Australia political editor) and James Massola (Fairfax political journo)
  • Gaven Morris (ABC news director) and Kirsten Aiken (ABC News)
  • Bianca Hall (The Age) and Noell Towell (The Canberra Times)
  • Miki Perkins (The Age) and Tom McKendrick (Fairfax)
  • Mike Clay (ABC The Drum) and Jessica Gardner (Australian Financial Review)
  • Garrett Mundy (ABC News) and Aleisha Orr (Fairfax’s WA Today)
  • Rebecca Dollery (ABC News) and Daniel Mercer (The West Australian)

Peter Fray

Fetch your first 12 weeks for $12

What a year. Here at Crikey, we saw a mighty surge in subscribers throughout 2020. Your support has been nothing short of amazing — we couldn’t have got through this year like no other without you, our readers.

If you haven’t joined us yet, fetch your first 12 weeks for $12 and start 2021 with the journalism you need to navigate whatever lies ahead.

Peter Fray
Editor-in-chief of Crikey