The September 2012 gay marriage bill was roundly defeated, 98-42, with the Labor Party allowing a conscience vote and the Coalition voting en masse against. But three years is a long time in politics, with same-sex marriage advocates pretty sure the measure would pass if both sides allowed a free vote. Which Labor MPs have changed their minds since the 2012 vote?

Firstly, to congratulate the 42 lower house MPs who had the courage of their convictions to vote for it when it was much less politically popular than it is now, they are: Anthony Albanese, Adam Bandt (the only Green in the lower house), Sharon Bird, Gai Brodtmann, Mark Butler, Nick Champion, Darren Cheeseman, Jason Clare, Julie Collins, Greg Combet, Harry Jenkins, Mark Dreyfus, Justine Elliot, Kate Ellis, Peter Garrett, Steve Georganas, Steve Gibbons, Gary Gray, Sharon Grierson, Alan Griffin, Jill Hall, Stephen Jones, Mike Kelly, Catherine King, Kirsten Livermore, Jenny Macklin, Richard Marles, Rob Oakeshott (an independent), Melissa Parke, Graham Perrett, Tanya Plibersek, Nicola Roxon, Amanda Rishworth, Janelle Saffin, Bill Shorten, Sid Sidebottom, Stephen Smith, Laura Smyth, Warren Snowdon, Craig Thomson, Andrew Wilkie and Simon Crean.

Notably, both the Labor leader (Julia Gillard) and deputy leader (Wayne Swan) voted against the measure. This time around, both Bill Shorten and Tanya Plibersek are expected to vote yes (as they did in 2012).

Three years later and it’s a new Parliament, and a new ball game. Of those Labor MPs who voted no last time, which ones now support gay marriage, according to Australian Marriage Equality?

Chris Bowen, Tony Burke, Joel Fitzgibbon, Ed Husic, Julie Owens, Bernie Ripoll, Kelvin Thomson and Wayne Swan all voted no on the issue but are now considered to be supporters of same-sex marriage.

And Labor’s Rob Mitchell, Anna Burke, Michael Danby, Laurie Ferguson, Andrew Leigh and Brendan O’Connor missed out on the vote last time round but are also considered to be proponents of gay marriage.