Bill Shorten has unveiled his shadow ministry, with a wider-than-expected reshuffle.

Deputy Tanya Plibersek will hold foreign affairs and international development; Senate leader Penny Wong will hold trade and investment, and deputy Senate leader Stephen Conroy takes on defence.

His former portfolio of communications will be taken by Jason Clare, while Tony Burke takes finance (reversing Tony Abbott’s swap of finance from Andrew Robb in the House of Reps to Mathias Cormann in the Senate). Richard Marles has been given the demanding portfolio of immigration. Anthony Albanese retains infrastructure and transport; Andrew Leigh will assist Chris Bowen in the treasury portfolio and also hold a competition brief; Bernie Ripoll, who headed the parliamentary inquiry into financial products and services in the wake of collapses like that of Storm, takes superannuation and financial services. Mark Butler retains the critical climate change portfolio.

Kim Carr will have higher education and industry; Kate Ellis will have education; Joel Fitzgibbon retains agriculture and Gary Gray keeps resources. Catherine King becomes the new health shadow minister, supported by Melissa Parke and Jan McLucas; Jenny Macklin retains her previous responsibilities but under a new title of “Families and Payments”, as well as disability reform; Shayne Neumann takes indigenous affairs and Brendan O’Connor has industrial relations. Don Farrell has veterans’ affairs.

Among the parliamentary secretaries, newcomer Jim Chalmers, once treasurer Wayne Swan’s chief of staff, is one of three parliamentary secretaries to Bill Shorten, along with Jacinta Collins; Louise Pratt, who may yet lose her Senate spot, is a parliamentary secretary in the environment portfolio while Warren Snowdon returns as parliamentary secretary for northern Australia.

  • Leader of the opposition: Bill Shorten
  • Foreign affairs and international development: Tanya Plibersek
  • Trade and investment: Penny Wong
  • Defence: Stephen Conroy
  • Infrastructure, transport and tourism: Anthony Albanese
  • Treasurer: Chris Bowen
  • Finance: Tony Burke
  • Environment, climate change and water: Mark Butler
  • Higher education: Kim Carr
  • Communications: Jason Clare
  • Attorney-General and the arts: Mark Dreyfus
  • Education and early childhood: Kate Ellis
  • Agriculture: Joel Fitzgibbon
  • Resources and special minister of state: Gary Gray
  • Health: Catherine King
  • Families and disability reform: Jenny Macklin
  • Immigration and border protection: Richard Marles
  • Indigenous affairs and ageing: Shayne Neumann
  • Employment and workplace relations: Brendan O’Connor