Glenn Dyer’s TV ratings: cricket gripping despite the score

At around 6pm Sydney time (5pm in Brisbane, 5.30pm in Adelaide and 3pm in Perth), close to 1.5 million people were watching the final minutes of the test on Nine. With a similar boost in regional markets, the average audience for Nine News topped the 2 million mark, but fell away once the drawn test was over.

Glenn Dyer — <em>Crikey</em> business and media commentator

Glenn Dyer

Crikey business and media commentator

The Glenn Dyer breakdown: Nine’s night in a close win in metro markets, Ten faded, the ABC was solid. In regional markets it was the usual story with Seven winning. Nine won the metro markets thanks to a solid win in Sydney and a bigger victory in Melbourne where Seven’s still on the nose a bit at times. The Test cricket running over past 6pm helped of course, and launched Nine’s night with a solid bunch of extra viewers.

The last session of the Test cricket had 715,000 metro and 1.090 million national viewers. But that was only the preliminary figures. The cricket running past 6pm boosted the metro and national audience of Nine News over 1.3 million and 2 million respectively. At around 6pm Sydney time (5pm in Brisbane, 5.30pm in Adelaide and 3pm in Perth), close to 1.5 million people were watching the final minutes of the test on Nine. With a similar boost in regional markets, the average audience for Nine News topped the 2 million mark, but fell away once the drawn Test was over.

Free Trial

Proudly annoying those in power since 2000.

Sign up for a FREE 21-day trial to keep reading and get the best of Crikey straight to your inbox

By starting a free trial, you agree to accept Crikey’s terms and conditions

0 comments

Leave a comment

Share this article with a friend

Just fill out the fields below and we'll send your friend a link to this article along with a message from you.

Your details

Your friend's details

Sending...