What did Leon Bignell ever do to miss out on a slot in the new Jay Weatherill Cabinet? Plenty, apparently. Known to everyone as Biggles, the Member for Mawson in Adelaide’s far southern suburbs and a parliamentary secretary, was at one time heavily fancied for a ministry under Weatherill. He was damn sure never going to get a portfolio under Mike Rann. As a member of Weatherill’s Left faction, Biggles did some of the early undermining of Rann’s position, remarking mid-year that Labor would be better off under Weatherill and that “another generation” was ready to take over. He also ran foul of former treasurer Kevin Foley, not a man to be crossed, who responded by describing Bignell as “an ex-ABC reporter who runs around pretending to be a political genius”. The former ABC sports journalist got his start in politics as a media adviser and then chief of staff to senior minister Pat Conlon, with whom he has also since fallen out. Within the tight confines of South Australian politics, Bignell was once involved in a relationship with MP Chloe Fox, who has been elevated by Weatherill to her first-time ministry today. Bignell, a divorcee, was engaged to Fox, the daughter of children’s author Mem Fox, soon after the 2006 election but it was broken off a year later. Now he lives with Sandra De Poi, a Labor supporter and member of the WorkCover SA Board. Somehow or another along the way, Bignell has managed to lose whatever parliamentary allies he once had to the extent that his ambitions are stalled and possibly thwarted for good. Unless he has blotted his copybook in some undisclosed manner, he seems to be paying the ultimate price for forcing the leadership issue ahead of the curve. The Labor factions don’t like to be forced. Biggles has few friends left in the right places. Bignell said this morning he had withdrawn from cabinet contention for “personal reasons”. Fox, meantime, picks up responsibility for Transport Services. Another newcomer to the ministry is the state's first openly gay MP Ian Hunter [Don Dunstan never outed himself], who takes the Left spot that Biggles originally earmarked for himself. Hunter gets Communities and Social Inclusion. Another winner is Weatherill confidante Grace Portolesi despite her making a hash of the Aboriginal Affairs portfolio amid claims of mismanagement, waste and child malnutrition on the APY Lands in the far north of SA [Weatherill was her predecessor in the Aboriginal portfolio, so neither has much to boast about]. Portolesi gets education, early childhood and child protection. Another promotion goes to Michael O'Brien, who gets the newly created Finance portfolio to oversee government's business units and general finances. It’s said that O’Brien was instrumental in delivering the party room momentum to support Weatheril’s pitch for the premiership. Deputy Premier John Rau, originally earmarked by Rann as his successor, retains the Attorney-General role despite pressure to hand it to Patrick Conlon, who retains Transport and Infrastructure and may be retiring anyway at the next state election in 2014. Health Minister John Hill, who has indicated he will not be standing again, keeps his current portfolio. SOUTH AUSTRALIAN MINISTRY PREMIER Hon Jay Weatherill MP Premier Minister for State Development Member of Executive Council JUSTICE Hon John Rau MP Deputy Premier Attorney-General Minister for Planning Minister for Business Services and Consumers Member of Executive Council REGIONS Hon Gail Gago MLC Minister for Agriculture, Food and Fisheries Minister for Forests Minister for Regional Development Minister for Tourism Minister for the Status ofWomen Member of Executive Council DEVELOPMENT Hon Patrick Conlon MP Minister for Transport and Infrastructure Minister for Housing and Urban Development Member of Executive Council TREASURY Hon Jack Snelling MP Treasurer Minister forWorkers’ Rehabilitation Minister for Defence Industries Minister for Veterans’ Affairs Member of Executive Council HEALTH Hon John Hill MP Minister for Health and Ageing Minister for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Minister for the Arts Member of Executive Council COMMUNITY SAFETY Hon Jennifer Rankine MP Minister for Police Minister for Correctional Services Minister for Emergency Services Minister for Road Safety Minister for Multicultural Affairs Member of Executive Council ENVIRONMENT Hon Paul Caica MP Minister for Sustainability, Environment and Conservation Minister for Water and the River Murray Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation Member of Executive Council BUSINESS Hon Tom Koutsantonis MP Minister for Manufacturing, Innovation and Trade Minister for Mineral Resources and Energy Minister for Small Business Member of Executive Council FINANCE Hon Michael O’Brien MP Minister for Finance Minister for the Public Sector Member of Executive Council EDUCATION AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT Hon Grace Portolesi MP Minister for Education and Child Development Member of Executive Council SKILLS Hon Tom Kenyon MP Minister for Employment, Higher Education and Skills Minister for Science and Information Economy Minister for Recreation and Sport Member of Executive Council INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS Hon Russell Wortley MLC Minister for Industrial Relations Minister for State/Local Government Relations Member of Executive Council TRANSPORT Hon Chloe Fox MP Minister for Transport Services Member of Executive Council COMMUNITIES AND SOCIAL INCLUSION Hon Ian Hunter MLC Minister for Communities and Social Inclusion Minister for Social Housing Minister for Disabilities Minister for Youth Minister for Volunteers Member of Executive Council