Under the Old Paradigm™ it was clear whom you should lobby in Canberra: to change policy you lobbied ministers, key backbenchers and senior bureaucrats; to change legislation you lobbied same, plus the cross-bench senators if the Opposition was opposing the legislation.

The Lobbyist Code of Conduct set up by John Faulkner in 2008, which included the first federal lobbyist register, was established on this basis. It only applies to government ministers, their staff and bureaucrats, who are prohibited from being lobbied by lobbyists not on the register but required to be so.