Opposition Treasury spokesman Joe Hockey might have got it right this morning when he predicted the election would be called this weekend.

So here’s a Crikey competition that Joe might like to enter.

At Crikey we believe in the wisdom of crowds and we know there are none wiser when it comes to matters political than our good readers. Hence a little contest.

Just send an email to [email protected] with the subject line “election comp” with your election date prediction. We will put together one of our very special First Dog prize packs for the winners of which there will be five — the 10th correct entry received every hour from when you receive this email until 6pm.

To help you out, here are the latest Sportsbet odds for the election dates:

  • $4.50 — Saturday, 7 August 2010
  • $4.50 — Saturday, 14 August 2010
  • $7 — Saturday, 21 August 2010
  • $4.50 — Saturday, 28 August 2010
  • $11 — Saturday, 4 September 2010
  • $11 — Saturday, 11 September 2010
  • $17 — Saturday, 18 September 2010
  • $17 — Saturday, 25 September 2010
  • $21 — Saturday, 2 October 2010
  • $21 — Saturday, 9 October 2010
  • $34 — Saturday, 16 October 2010
  • $34 — Saturday, 23 October 2010
  • $34 — Saturday, 30 October 2010
  • $34 — Saturday, 6 November 2010
  • $41 — Saturday, 13 November 2010
  • $41 — Saturday, 20 November 2010
  • $9 — Any date after Saturday, 20 November 2010

So get predicting and send your entry to [email protected].

Peter Fray

Get your first 12 weeks of Crikey for $12.

Without subscribers, Crikey can’t do what it does. Fortunately, our support base is growing.

Every day, Crikey aims to bring new and challenging insights into politics, business, national affairs, media and society. We lift up the rocks that other news media largely ignore. Without your support, more of those rocks – and the secrets beneath them — will remain lodged in the dirt.

Join today and get your first 12 weeks of Crikey for just $12.

 

Peter Fray
Editor-in-chief of Crikey

JOIN NOW