The nominations are in, time to count the votes in this year’s Crikey Readers’ Choice Awards.

Nominees include Malcolm Turnbull for Person of the Year, as one reader put it: “Crashed and burn in the most public way possible, almost tearing his party completely apart in the process. Fascinating. Brilliant. Egomaniac. Flawed. Fuck up. Icon.”

Joe Hockey’s up there for sexiest male politician, and smokin’ newcomer NSW Premier Kristina Keneally is a hot contender for sexiest female politician.

The nominees for all categories, including The Werbeloff, The Steve and The Keyboard Cat are all listed here.

We’ll be announcing the winners on Wednesday, the final edition of Crikey for this year.

Vote now — have your say on who will win the Crikey Readers’ Choice Awards for 2009.

Peter Fray

Fetch your first 12 weeks for $12

What a year. Here at Crikey, we saw a mighty surge in subscribers throughout 2020. Your support has been nothing short of amazing — we couldn’t have got through this year like no other without you, our readers.

If you haven’t joined us yet, fetch your first 12 weeks for $12 and start 2021 with the journalism you need to navigate whatever lies ahead.

Peter Fray
Editor-in-chief of Crikey