Further analysis into how the Department of Education, Science and Training (DEST) has directed “Transition Funds” to key marginal and Coalition held seats is either mere coincidence or a calculated pork-barrelling exercise.

As Crikey reported on Friday a draft report commissioned by Australian University Sport and the Australasian Campus Managers Association found that “for the federal electorates which received funding under this program the campuses in coalition held seats received in total more than twice the funding… compared to the campuses in opposition held seats”.

Since the introduction of Voluntary Student Unionism, the Federal Government has found itself in a surreal situation whereby they are now footing the bill for sports orientated facilities such as swimming pools, gymnasiums and even outstanding loan payments. To date this now totals nearly $86 million with no guarantee of future maintenance.

For the not-so-sports orientated student the below figures will be a revealing example of what is valued by the Federal Government alongside education. Previously, the $160 million collected as Student Activities fees would allow the funding of not only sports, but cultural activities as well as basic services such as counselling and child-care.

I have broken up the figures in funding between Key/Marginal seats as recommended on Antony Green’s ABC Election Guide, safe Coalition seats and safe ALP seats. There are some discrepancies due to some universities having campuses in differing electorates. In those situations I have tried to equally distribute them between the ALP and Coalition.

With only a further $10 million — or less — to be allocated in Round Three, it leaves very little hope for any other universities who are now suffering the real impacts of Voluntary Student Unionism the hope of assistance. Many universities — or campuses at least — seem to be missing from this list. Sports and cultural activities on campus could very possibly become a misty eyed memory of those who went before the introduction of the bill.

Key or Marginal Seats

TOTAL FUNDING: $51,882,615

Of which are Coalition: $36,207,074

Of which are ALP: $9,475,541

Of which are Independent: $6,200,000

Charles Sturt University – Bathurst campus   
Key Marginal ALP seat of Macquarie           

Southern Cross University – Lismore Campus             
Key Marginal National seat of Page              

University of New England               
Key Independent seat of New England (Tony Windsor)

University of Western Sydney – Penrith         
Marginal Liberal seat of Lindsay    

University of Melbourne – mainly Creswick campus 
Key marginal ALP seat of Ballarat

University of Ballarat                       
Marginal ALP seat of Ballarat         

James Cook University – Townsville campus              
Near the key Liberal seat of Herbert and the safe National seat of Dawson         

James Cook University     
Key Liberal seat of Leichhardt                                       

University of Southern Queensland
Wide Bay campus – near the key National seat of Hinkler
Springfield campus – safe ALP seat of Oxley
Toowoomba campus – safe Liberal seat of Groom

Griffith University              
Key marginal Liberal seat of Moreton           

Central Queensland University – Mainly Rockhampton campus        
Marginal ALP seat of Capricornia                  

The University of Queensland         
Key Liberal seat of Blair   

Queensland University of Technology           
Key Liberal seat of Longman          

Flinders University              
Key marginal Liberal seat of Boothby          

Charles Darwin University
Key marginal Country Liberal seat of Solomon          

University of Tasmania
Key marginal seats of Bass and Braddon as well as safe ALP seat of Denison    

Safe Coalition Seats

TOTAL FUNDING: $15,264,000

University of the Sunshine Coast – Sippy Downs campus         
Safe Liberal seat of Fairfax             

Charles Sturt University – Dubbo campus     
Safe National Party seat of Parkes                      

Charles Sturt University -Orange campus      
Safe National seat of Calare            

Southern Cross University – Coffs Harbour campus  
Safe National seat of Cowper          

University of Western Sydney – Hawkesbury & Campbelltown campus               
Safe Liberal seat of Greenway and Key Marginal Liberal seat of Macarthur  (Pat Farmer)              

Deakin University – Warrnambool campus   
Safe Liberal seat of Wannon                           

Monash University – Gippsland Campus                      
Safe National seat of Gippsland     

Edith Cowan University    
Safe Liberal seat of Forrest              

University of South Australia – Whyalla campus
Safe Liberal seat of Grey  

Curtin University of Technology     
Safe Liberal seat of Pearce               

University of Notre Dame 
Safe Liberal seat of Kalgoorlie        

Safe ALP Seats

TOTAL FUNDING: $14,970,385

University of Newcastle    
Safe ALP seat of Newcastle             

University of Wollongong 
Safe ALP seat of Cunningham        

La Trobe University – Bundoora & Wodonga campus               
Safe ALP seat of Batman and Safe Liberal seat of Indi

Safe ALP seat of Batman

Victoria University – St Albans campus         
Safe ALP seat of Maribyrnong        

Get Crikey for $1 a week.

Lockdowns are over and BBQs are back! At last, we get to talk to people in real life. But conversation topics outside COVID are so thin on the ground.

Join Crikey and we’ll give you something to talk about. Get your first 12 weeks for $12 to get stories, analysis and BBQ stoppers you won’t see anywhere else.

Peter Fray
Peter Fray
Editor-in-chief of Crikey
12 weeks for just $12.