On the first two Tuesdays in December, we’ll be publishing the second annual Crikey Honour Roll. With the winners selected by a Crikey panel of experts, we’ll be announcing 12 awards in each of the four categories – politics, media, business and sport.

The panels haven’t finalised their consultations yet, and they need input from Crikey readers. Who do you think should win the Politician’s Blunder of the Year, or the Conflict of Interest Award, or the Spin Award of 2006? 

Here are the categories for Politics and Media — the results will be brought to you in a special edition next Tuesday afternoon (5th Dec), and the following Tuesday (12th Dec) the list of winners in the business and sport categories will land in your inbox. 

Send comments or nominations for the Politics and Media awards to [email protected].


The Outstanding Media Practitioner of 2006
Editor of the Year
Scoop of the Year
Best News/Current Affairs TV Program of the Year
Newspaper of the Year
Beat-up of the Year
Most Nauseating Moment in Chequebook Journalism
Most scandalous biography of 2006
Media Bunfight of the Year
Best Blogger of the Year
The Spin Award of 2006
Columnist of the Year


The Australian Politician of the Year
Backbencher of the Year
State Political Personage of the Year
Opposition Leader of the Year
Best Political Leak of 2006
Political Quote of the Year
Politician’s Blunder of the Year
Bunfight of the Year
Most Notable Legislation of 2006
Most gay-friendly politician of 2006
Dumbest Political Idea of the Year
The Peter Beattie Media Tart Award

Get more Crikey, for less

It’s more than a newsletter. It’s where readers expect more – fearless journalism from a truly independent perspective. We don’t pander to anyone’s party biases. We question everything, explore the uncomfortable and dig deeper.

Join us this week for 50% off a year of Crikey.

Peter Fray
Peter Fray
Editor-in-chief of Crikey
50% off