While my top 20
Australian business figures over the past 25 years is hardly perfect,
it has a lot more quality control than the Howard Government’s gong
panels over the past decade.

Have a look at the 135 AC recipients
since 1996 and you’ll notice that only three of them are in my top 20 –
Frank Lowy, Gary Pemberton and Dick Pratt. And when it comes to gonging
business leaders, I reckon the Howard Government got it wrong in giving
an AC to the following:

Tim Besley:
chaired CBA and Leighton well but was completely asleep as chairman of the Wheat Export Authority
Sir Rod Carnegie: sacked as CRA boss, quit the GIO chair prematurely and was publicly attacked by his former CEO at Newcrest
Ross Dunning: can’t say why due to suppression orders
Margaret Jackson: chaired the BHP and Pacific Dunlop audit committees when both came a cropper and Qantas shares hit a three year low
John Landels: not a bad leader of Caltex for 14 years but Liberal connections shouldn’t have delivered a first division gong
Hugh Morgan:
nasty right wing record on race and should have been sacked when WMC lost $500 million in Canada
Maurice Newman: chairing a gouging monopoly like the ASX is nothing special
Nick Paspaley: whatever merit is coloured by excessive Liberal Party donations
John Prescott: presided over almost $10 billion in losses at BHP
John Uhrig: sold out Australia by merging CRA with Rio Tinto and letting the whole show be run out of London
Stan Wallis: the AMP chairman in charge when almost $10 billion was dropped in the UK
Sir Bruce Watson: MIM was hardly a standout performer for all those years when led by this fellow

A cut above this group in a “defendable” category of AC recipients are
Charles Curran, Transfield founders Carlo Salteri and Franco
Belgiorno-Nettis, Douglas Daft, Robert de Crespigny and Charles Goode.

These sorts of comments are always highly subjective so all feedback is welcome to [email protected]

Peter Fray

Get your first 12 weeks of Crikey for $12.

Without subscribers, Crikey can’t do what it does. Fortunately, our support base is growing.

Every day, Crikey aims to bring new and challenging insights into politics, business, national affairs, media and society. We lift up the rocks that other news media largely ignore. Without your support, more of those rocks – and the secrets beneath them — will remain lodged in the dirt.

Join today and get your first 12 weeks of Crikey for just $12.


Peter Fray
Editor-in-chief of Crikey