We’re starting to get closer to a
comprehensive list of sporting tilts at politics. The latest nine new
names are below and everyone else we’ve mentioned so far is listed here on the website. If you can come up with any additional names, please email [email protected].

Roy “Bud” Abbott:

the former South Adelaide footballer was ALP member for Spence from
1975 to 1989 and also held several ministerial portfolios in the Bannon

Chris Natt: played 300 games for Port Adelaide before it joined
the AFL and is current Labor member for Drysdale in the Northern
Territory Parliament.

Cory Bernardi: the newest South
Australian Liberal senator rowed for Australia and also enjoyed Liberal
largesse as chairman of the Australian Sports Foundation and a director
of the Australian Sports Commission and the Australian Institute of

Wilfred Kent-Hughes: represented Australia in the
400m hurdles at the 1920 Antwerp Olympics and then went to hold the
seat of Kew in the Victorian Parliament from 1927-1949, originally as a
Progressive Nationalist before he and Robert Menzies founded the Young
Nationalist Organisation in 1930. Held various portfolios in the United
Australia Party-Country Party ministry of 1932-35.

Ron McAuliffe:
played rugby league for Queensland and is best remembered as the QRL
President who came up with the current state of origin concept in 1980.
Not so well remembered for his contributions as a Labor senator.

Ian McLachlan: South Australian shield cricketer who rose to be John Howard’s first Defence Minister.

Kym Richardson: the former Glenelg footballer is currently the Liberal member for the federal seat of Kingston.

Nick Shehadie: in an international career from 1947 to 1958, was
the cornerstone of Australia’s rugby union team as a prop and second
rower who went on be Lord Mayor of Sydney 1973-4, and deputy 1979-87.

Athol Townley:
Sheffield Shield cricketer for Tasmania who was Liberal Member for
Denison 1949-1963. Served as Minister of Air and Civil Aviation
1954-1956, Minister for Immigration 1956-1958 and Minister for Defence

Mick Veivers: The National Party MP for
Southport and former Minister in the Borbidge Government got his
profile from playing rugby league for Queensland and Australia more
than 30 years ago.