By Stephen Mayne

And here we were thinking our list of 40 hacks who made it into
Parliament was definitive. Piles of emails later, we’ve added the
following 13 names so do check out what is now a far more comprehensive list numbering 53 and send any further corrections or additions to [email protected]:

Michael Atkinson:
the South Australian Labor Attorney General and media junkie was once The Advertiser’s industrial reporter but is very coy about this background on his website.

Tony Benneworth: Former Tasmanian state cricketer and
journalist, who rose to become the uninspiring Liberal member for the
state seat of Bass. Now a newsagent and turned up at the 2005 Gunns AGM
to heap praise on the giant tree-lopping outfit.

Bob Cheek: the former Liberal leader in Tasmania is best remembered
for his 2005 book lifting the lid on political perks but before
that he was a businessman who had previously spent time as a journalist
with The Mercury in Hobart, a profession two of his children have followed him into.

Kerry Finch: independent member for Rosevears in the Tasmanian upper house who was dumped as a morning presenter on the ABC in Launceston in 1999 after 15 years.

Les Haylen: the federal ALP member for Parkes from 1943 until 1963 was news editor of Australian Women’s
from 1933 to his entry into parliament.

Delia Lawrie: Northern Territory Minister for Family
and Community Services, and Sport and Recreation, was a journalist with the
Northern Territory News, The Advertiser and The South China Morning Post before
she won the Darwin seat of Karama for Labor off the CLP in 2001. Also worked for the AJA in Melbourne.

Barbara McCarthy: Northern Territory Labor MLA for Arnhem
and one of the first Indigenous women in an Australian Parliament.
Barbara was strongly promoted by Emily’s List which says she was an ABC news presenter in Sydney and Darwin and a contributing reporter
to the ABC series Blackout.

Neville Oliver: the former head of sport at the ABC failed when
he ran as Labor’s candidate in the Tasmanian lower house seat of
Franklin in 1998 but in 2002 he achieved his goal by replacing replaced
Fran Bladen, as is explained in this St Patricks school newsletter.

Clyde Packer: After surrendering his media proprietor role at
PBL to his brother Kerry for $4 million in 1976, the elder Packer son
quickly went into the NSW Upper House as one of the youngest ever
Liberal MPs.

Tony Rundle: The Liberal premier of Tasmania in the mid-1990s was a television reporter in the 1980s.

Malcolm Turnbull: the member for Wentworth worked as a journalist during and after his studies at The Bulletin, 2SM, Channel Nine and TheSunday Times in London but he made his name as a lawyer, investment banker and Republican.

Diana Warnock: long time ABC radio personality and subsequent MLA
for Perth
in the WA Parliament from 1993 until retiring in 2001.

Grant Woodhams: the new National Party member for Greenough
in WA worked with ABC radio in Tasmania, South Australia, NSW and
Victoria as well as being the Channel 7 weatherman in Perth for many