A subscriber has kindly come up
with a seat-by-seat guide to the backroom backgrounds of key Labor
candidates for next year’s Tasmanian state election.

Are there
any readers brave/kind enough to tackle the Labor lists for South
Australia and Victoria, the other two states going to the polls next
year? And don’t think we’re picking on the ALP. There’s not much point
exploring the backgrounds of Liberal candidates in any of these three
states – at the moment, anyway. The polls suggest very few of them have
a snowball’s chance of actually getting elected.


  • Grant Courtney: State Secretary, Australasian Meat Industry Employees Union
  • Kathryn Hay: Former Adviser to Labor Premier
  • Michelle O’Byrne: Former MHR, former Union organiser, National
    Co-convenor of Labor Party’s Emily’s List, failed Labor candidate


  • Leonie Batchelor: Staffer to Labor Senator
  • Brenton Best: Union organiser, Federated Engine Drivers and Firemen’s Association of Australasia
  • Bryan Green: State Organiser, Australian Manufacturers Workers Union and former staffer to Labor Senator
  • Peter Hollister: failed Labor Candidate for Braddon


  • David Bartlett: Adviser to Labor Minister
  • Julie Collins: Adviser to Labor Premier
  • Joe Ritchie: Brother of Labor Party’s Left faction convenor and ALP Legislative Council member, union official
  • Lisa Singh: Adviser to disgraced Labor Minister, Ken Bacon,
    National Labor Women’s Network, former Co-Convenor of Emily’s List in
    Tasmania and Emily’s List National Committee member
  • Graeme Sturges: Senior official, Australian Postal and Telecommunications Union


  • Ross Butler: Senior union official and former Ministerial adviser
  • Lara Giddings: Labor Ministerial adviser
  • Daniel Hulme: President, Tasmanian Young Labor
  • Paul Lennon: Senior union official
  • Paula Wriedt: Labor staffer


  • Malcolm Upston: Official, Australian Education Union