Figures from Hansard for 2003 indicate that Victoria’s Federal
opposition members are far more productive than the government side
when it comes to parliamentary contribution.
In 2003, Labor backbencher Brendan O’Connor made more speeches than any
other Member (80), followed closely by former Opposition leader, Simon
Crean (79). Liberal Flinders MP, Greg Hunt, spoke 57 times to be the
highest contributor from the Government side. ALP Deputy leader Jenny
Macklin (50) and Labor frontbencher Martin Ferguson (49) filled 4th and
5th place.

At the other end of the scale, National party whip, John Forrest was
unable to speak more than 5 times. Environment and Heritage Minister
David Kemp made a paltry 8 speeches and McEwen MP Fran Bailey came in
equal third last with only 12 contributions. Backbencher Tony Smith
(Liberal) also made only 12 speeches. With 20 sitting weeks a year
there must have been some awfully quiet weeks in Canberra for some of
these members.

The Stats

The following is a list of all Victorian Members of the House of
Representatives. Figures represent the number of speeches made in the
Chamber in 2003, excluding interjections and questions.

The figures are obtained from the “parlinfo” website:

    Andrews, The Hon Kevin, Member for Menzies  17

    Bailey, The Hon Fran, Member for McEwen  12

    Barresi, Mr Phillip, Member for Deakin  17

    Billson, Mr Bruce, Member for Dunkley  48

    Burke, Ms Anna, Member for Chisholm  40

    Byrne, Mr Anthony, Member for Holt  14

    Charles, Mr Bob, Member for La Trobe  16

    Corcoran, Ms Ann, Member for Isaacs  17

    Costello, The Hon Peter, Member for Higgins  17

    Crean, The Hon Simon, Member for Hotham  79

    Danby, Mr Michael, Member for Melbourne Ports  45

    Ferguson, Mr Martin, Member for Batman  49

    Forrest, Mr John, Member for Mallee  5

    Georgiou, Mr Petro, Member for Kooyong  13

    Gibbons, Mr Steve, Member for Bendigo  18

    Gillard, Ms Julia, Member for Lalor  40

    Griffin, Mr Alan, Member for Bruce  32

    Hawker, Mr David, Member for Wannon  14

    Hunt, Mr Greg, Member for Flinders  57

    Jenkins, Mr Harry, Member for Scullin  32

    Kemp, The Hon Dr David, Member for Goldstein  8

    King, Ms Catherine, Member for Ballarat  39

    Macklin, Ms Jenny, Member for Jagajaga  50

    McArthur, Mr Stewart, Member for Corangamite  20

    McGauran, The Hon Peter, Member for Gippsland  24

    O’Connor, Mr Brendan, Member for Burke  80

    O’Connor, Mr Gavan, Member for Corio  40

    Panopoulos, Ms Sophie, Member for Indi  18

    Pearce, Mr Chris, Member for Aston  18

    Roxon, Ms Nicola, Member for Gellibrand  33

    Sercombe, Mr Bob, Member for Maribyrnong  12

    Smith, Mr Tony, Member for Casey 12

    Stone, The Hon Dr Sharman, Member for Murray  23

    Tanner, Mr Lindsay, Member for Melbourne  36

    Thomson, Mr Kelvin, Member for Wills  30

    Vamvakinou, Ms Maria, Member for Calwell  27

    Zahra, Mr Christian, Member for McMillan  44